August 8, 2014 | Classical Concert

Pianist Mark Damisch in

Concerts for Friendship and Peace

The Austrian Cultural Forum presents pianist Mark Damisch in concert playing classic for friendship and peace. On this evening a range of classic can be expected composed by the following pieces:

Six Romanian Dances | Bartok

A series of six short piano pieces composed in 1915. Bartok later orchestrated it for a small ensemble in 1917. It is based on tunes from Transylvania, originally played on fiddle or shepherd's flute. 

I.  Bot tanc (Stick Dance)
II. Braul (Sash Dance) The melody comes from Igris, in the Banat region
III. Topogo (In One Spot) The melody recreates Middle Eastern instruments, such as the flute. 
IV. Bucsumi tanc (Dance from Bucsum)
V. Roman polka - The piece comes from Beius, near the border of Romania and Hungary
VI. Aprozo (Fast Dance) The last dance is formed by two different melodies; the first one comes from Belenyes and the second one comes from Nyara. 

Bartok heard the melody of the first movements when two gypsy violinst were playing it.

Piano Sonata No. 23 | Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Opus 57, known as the Appassionata is among the three famous pipano sonatas of his middle period.  It was composed during 1804-1805 and was dedicated to Count Franz von Brunswick.  One of his greatest and most technically challenging piano sonatas, the Appassionata was considered by Beethoven to be his most tempestuous piano sonata, being described as a "brilliantly executed display of emotion and music" 1803 was the year Beethoven came to grips with the irreversibility of his progressively deteriorating hearing. 

Allegro Assai: The main theme is quiet and ominous. 
Andante con moto: A set of variations on a theme remarkable for it's simplicity. 
Allegro ma non troppo - Presto: A movement in near perpetual motion. The movement ends with a faster coda introducing a new theme.  It is one of only a handful of Beethoven sonatas which end in tragedy.

Wanderer Fantasy | Schubert

Schubert composed this work in late 1822. It was written for, and dedicated to, Carl Emanuel Liebenberg von Zwittin in hopes of some remuneration for the dedication.  It is a technically formidable challenge for the performer.  Each movement transitions into the next without break and each start with a variation of the opening phrase of his lied "Der Wanderer" which he wrote in 1816. 

Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo

When: Friday, August 8, 2014 | 7:30 p.m.
Where: Austrian Cultural Forum (Embassy of Austria) | 3524 International Court NW | Washington, DC 20008